News and More (Image loading....)
RAEIN-Africa signs MOU with CCARDESA

The Regional Agricultural and Environmental Innovations Networks-Africa (RAEIN-AFRICA) and the Centre for Coordination of Agricultural Research and Development for Southern Africa (CCARDESA) cemented their collaboration with the signing of a Memorandum of Understanding in Gaborone, Botswana on Wednesday, 23 October 2013. The established collaboration is meant to enhance the common interests of the two organisations in agricultural research, technology development, application and transfer, capacity building and training and the future development of agriculture in the SADC.

In his opening statement, the CCARDESA Executive Director, Professor Timothy Simalenga, highlighted the importance of the collaboration and partnership with RAEIN-Africa as critical for improving food security and livelihoods in the Southern African Development Community (SADC) region.

The RAEIN-Africa Executive Director, Ms Doreen Shumba-Mnyulwa reaffirmed that the established collaboration and partnership will enable the application of research outputs in influencing policy and practice thereby increasing both crop and livestock productivity in the region.  This improved application of research results will have significant impact on rural livelihoods and food security.

The MOU covers the following important areas of collaboration and partnership;

Agricultural research and development

  • Development of strategies for improving food security and livelihoods
  • Development of strategies for improving natural resources management
  • Develop approaches for technology development, adaption and transfer practices that enhance the relationship between research, industry, biosafety and biodiversity
  • Exchange of research personnel, scientific experts, specialists and technical trainees and
  • Joint planning and development of research proposals and execution of research projects and programmes.

CCARDESA is a regional agricultural organisation that was launched by the Ministers of agriculture and food security in the SADC in July of 2011.